I Enjoy Painting…

I enjoy painting on a regular basis, but until a few months ago, I didn’t really know I could enjoy it as much as I do right now. My office is a mess–cluttered with canvases both clean and covered, and paint tubes, and brushes, and cat hair. The latter is a really important part of my life because every little strand belongs to one of my three furry babies, one of whom is sitting here next to me wondering, as she cocks her head to the side, what in the hell I’m doing that doesn’t involve her snuggles…

Well, EZJ (shortened version of Eliza Jane in this house), I am typing! About you! (Don’t tell her I’m not actually typing about her, or she will feel very hurt… she is terribly sensitive, and is actually trying to get me to go to bed… dammit! She wins. I am typing about her!)

SO, PAINTING!! I really like it. I am okay at it, but I look forward to getting better at it as I play. I hope to post my “artwork” here as I progress and learn new techniques. I hope my imagination returns to me with vivid clarity and that it translates well through my paintbrushes!

I will post photos of my work… perceived good and bad… I am not looking for encouragement or critiques here, I just want a place to put it — unabashedly, honestly, stupidly, bravely just — OUT THERE!!

One more thing… I plan to post work without commenting on it. I don’t want to share my feelings, or express what I was trying to convey, or blah blah blah blah blah. Blah. I will also be posting drawings and other crap I do. The same rules apply. I am of the belief that art is individual; meaning, what you get out of it may not be what I got out of doing it, and that’s fucking fine with me!

Additionally, from time to time, I will post something that inspires me… something I did not create. I will credit the creator if possible, and I will always assert that I did not create it…

Leave a Reply

